Poem: Teeth of the Storm

I heard the peals of thunder
Long into the distance
But creeping closer with
Each passing hour and day

When You first told me
Of the coming Storm
I was unsure of the Message
What Storm? I told myself

When the skies began to darken
And the whispers on the wind
Became shouts upon the gathering gales
I still barely understood

You told me to pass the message along
And I did as I was asked
My vague understanding
Garbled part of the Message’s tone

Find shelter! Prepare for what is to come!
I barely understood the meaning
But beneath the rolling slash of thunder
I heard the beating of swords and spears

Slamming against shields
Getting louder, coming closer
And I knew what was said
Just as the teeth of the Storm arrived

Leave a Reply

