The Spokes of the Wheel

So, another Beltane has come and will soon be gone. I’ve said it before, this is not my favorite festival of the year. In fact, it rates right down there with Samhain for me. And what makes that even stranger for me – these are two festivals that are directly across from one another on the Wheel. But I have had plenty of Pagan folk ask me why these two in particular? And I have answered time and time again – its not really the festivals that make this time of the year not so much fun. Its the over-emphasis on these two points on the Wheel.

Just After Sunrise - Glacier National Park

Perhaps, I approach things from a far more odd-ball perspective than most Pagans. For me, each day provides a new moment in time, with the eight marked spokes on the Wheel as markers for the rotation. Each moment, each minuscule turn of the Wheel provides a point for reflection, celebration, and marvel. But much like Christmas, New Year’s, and Easter are moments for celebration, I continually remind myself that there are those that will place emphasis on these points for reasons far different than my own. And to stomp all over that would be nothing more than sour grapes on my part. Or so it would seem to someone else. The reality is merely that I just choose to approach the Wheel from a slightly different vantage point.

Two years ago, I wrote a blog post talking about why I celebrate Beltane alone. To this day, it still holds true, though I am trying my best to come out of my shell a bit more. I had planned to attend a Beltane celebration today, just an hour away. When the location got moved at the last minute because of events that were beyond the control of the organizers, I had to reluctantly cancel. An hour drive in one direction I can handle. A two and a half hour drive in one direction, that’s not ideal. Especially when it called for traversing DFW traffic to get to the location. Still, it would have been nice if the plans had not changed as drastically as it had happened.

Perhaps next year. Lots of factors will need to be in play for that to be determined. In the meantime, I spent my Beltane in a quiet fashion. Doing my weekly chores around the house, working on my OBOD studies, setting out my morning offerings to the Spirits of Place and the Gods…and observing the day, just as I had yesterday, and the day before, and the day before that. And as I will tomorrow. And the day after that, and the day after that. The marked spokes on the Wheel are nice observances of moments in time. But my work as a Pagan happens daily. And for me, each day is a special moment in time…which will never happen again. Nor will I be able to revisit it, except in my memories.

Leave a Reply

