Carpe Somnia and a Beer with President Clinton

So….yesterday was the second inauguration for President Obama. That’s great for him – great for his political party – and great for the country. I did not watch – but then I rarely watch stuff like that. The last inauguration that I watched was the second one for President Clinton. My first was the previous one for him. The only reason I watched – well, simply put, I liked the guy…and still do. Of all the Presidents I have had in my lifetime, President Clinton is by far the only one I would like to spend an afternoon with. Not because I agree with his politics – but because I find him to be an interesting individual, who conducts interviews that I enjoy watching. But enough of the political jibber-jabbering. Like most days, I got up early enough to watch the sunrise this morning. Despite the fact that I only had four hours of sleep two nights previous – and three hours this past night. No matter how many times I watch the sun rising – I’m still in awe of each new day. I was asked a while back why I pay so little attention to the Wheel of the Year within my own spiritual practice. The reasoning is simple. Each day is a new adventure for me. The end of each day provides me time to reflect on all I managed to get done, as well as reflect on some of the missed opportunities. I never regret those missed moments…there’s always the next morning’s sunrise to look forward to. Its that optimistic perspective that has helped me over the last few years. When I was unemployed – I saw each day as something to just “get through” – until I realized that each day was like a blank canvas. There was a painting to be done – a new way of seeing the day that was waiting to be drawn out. Its made all the difference in how I approach each day. Sure, there are bad days – there’s always bad days. I treat those days as challenges…moments to learn from. And each lesson can be somewhat similar, but like people, each is unique in some manner or fashion. Much like Robin Williams character in “Dead Poet’s Society” says:

They’re not that different from you, are they? Same haircuts. Full of hormones, just like you. Invincible, just like you feel. The world is their oyster. They believe they’re destined for great things, just like many of you, their eyes are full of hope, just like you. Did they wait until it was too late to make from their lives even one iota of what they were capable? Because, you see gentlemen, these boys are now fertilizing daffodils. But if you listen real close, you can hear them whisper their legacy to you. Go on, lean in. Listen, you hear it? – – Carpe – – hear it? – – Carpe, carpe diem, seize the day boys, make your lives extraordinary.

To be completely open – its this quote that drives my day. Until you take the step of self-freedom, take that morning step that is for you and you alone – Life remains something that you just “get through”. Get outside…experience the world beyond your four walls. Grab a hold of the world…shake it…mold it into what you want. Carpe Somnia…

Leave a Reply

