9-11-11

Ten years ago.  Everyone is mentioning what they remember from ten years ago.  So I’ll add my very small voice to that mix.  What do I remember?  Not much.  Sure, there’s the images of the planes crashing into the buildings, the people jumping from the highest floors, the aftermath of pulverized whatever that made the world look as if it was cloaked in grey.  But I only saw those images after the fact – and honestly cannot recall the first moments that I saw those images.

On September 10th, I worked my usual shift:  6pm to 2am.  I stopped at Whataburger on the way home.  I eventually made it to bed by 4am.  My typical work day at that time.  I vaguely recall my supervisor calling me at some point in the morning and telling me not to come in to work.  The school was going to close in a short while and she wasn’t sure if it was going to open the next day either.  Human Resources would contact me and let me know.  I stayed up for a short while longer after that and watched some of the news coverage – and then went back to bed.  That’s about all I have for a memory for that day ten years ago.  And even that memory is a little fuzzed on the edges.

See – memories like that are the ones I let go of.  I don’t hang on to memories of tragedies.  I don’t let things like that define who I am or where I am headed on my Path.  I hold on to other, more important memories:

  • Her smile framed by a deep red setting sun behind her.
  • The moment in the Rockies where I was having breakfast on the sun-deck at the cabin.  When I looked up, I saw two small fauns at the edge of the deck, having their own breakfast.
  • The day I received my Masters degree and became the first member of my blood-family to hold a Graduate degree.
  • That one afternoon where I helped a friend with his amateur movie project and took nineteen takes to deliver a single line (which was the word “Blam!”).  And that includes me slipping on the gravel during my point of entrance in the scene – and skidding completely out of the scene on my hind end, amid a series of Anglo-Saxon adjectives.  For a short twenty-second scene – we filmed those takes over a six-hour period.  And we never laughed so damn hard in all of our lives.

…and there are many, many others.  While I grok the need for someone to reflect back and consider this an “important” moment in their personal histories — its not for me.  Its a tragic moment in our collective histories.  No more or less tragic than the Tsunami in the Indian Ocean on 26 December 2004.  Or the earthquake, tsunami, and nuclear incident that occurred in Japan on 11 March 2011.  Or any other tragedy – natural or man-made – that has occurred throughout History.  I grok the need for silent reflection over the loss that has occurred in each of these and other tragedies.  For myself, I don’t see a need to spend more than a few minutes on that reflection.  I define my own Life and my own Path in a completely different way.  And honestly….that works for me.  Your own mileage will definitely vary.

One thought on “9-11-11

  1. Loved your last show. As you asked for some suggestions for your next podcast, I would love to hear more detail about what Druidism has taught you. Also, one of the favourite sacred plants I grow, Peyote, grows naturally in Texas and I think it would be fascinating to hear your take on the rights of Governments to make growing certain plants (Peyote for example) illegal, especially when they have entheogenic significance.As I mentioned earlier, I know you are undergoing Druid training and I know Druids have a love for plants and think that both these subjects would make fascinating shows,Chris

Leave a Reply

